Worship. Grow. Put faith into action.

The First Presbyterian Church of Mendota organizes its Session under 10 different committees which include at least one member from Session and other members are drawn from the Session, Deacons, and the congregation.  The Session has authority and direction over all affairs and activities of the Church in accordance with the constitution of the Presbyterian Church USA.  The Session seeks to follow The Great Commandment, The Great Commission and the Mission Statement of our church.

The Great Commandment  Jesus replied, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.  And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’  All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”  Matthew 22:37-40 NIV

The Great Commission  Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.  Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.  And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”  Matthew 28: 18-20

Mission Statement  Empowered by the Holy Spirit through every aspect of our lives, we strive to become more like Christ.  Our purpose is to praise and worship God, nurture all generations, support each other as a family, and reach out to others to spread the good news of our salvation through Jesus Christ!


Finance and Stewardship Committee – Peggy Etheridge, chairperson

Maintenance and Property – Gary Stevens & David Setchell, chairpersons

Christian Education – Don Barkowski,  chairperson

Personnel and Pastoral Relations – Chuck Baumann, chairperson

Worship – Andra Goy, chairperson

Evangelism and Outreach – Jamie Rodriguez, chairperson

Mission Validation and Interpretation – Terry Arjes, chairperson

Fellowship and Parish Life -Joni Bratney, chairperson

Nominating Committee – Elders Class of 2018

Memorial Committee – Carol Erwin, chairperson